Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

What Is the Story of Diablo 4

Diablo 4 is the upcoming game release in the intriguing Diablo series, and we expect it to maintain and continue the storyline. The series has been running since 1997, and as expected, the game has a rich storyline. We have seen three core games, the latest being Diablo 3, released about ten years ago.

Apart from the core games, there have also been expansion packs and additional media types, which add more detail to the storyline. Therefore, if you are new to the series, it is best to understand the game’s main story to enjoy a better gaming experience once it launches.

The Story of Diablo 4

Diablo 4 is going to take players decades after the Diablo 3 events. Therefore, we can expect previous and new Diablo 4 characters. You’ll be pleased to know that Diablo 4 allows for class customization and isn’t a gender-locked game. When you create your first character, you’ll have the option to choose your character’s gender, enabling you to personalize your avatar to your liking from the start of your journey The game will also maintain the series’ dark narrative, which revolves around the suffering of the brave heroes who try to save the world. However, the best way to understand the new and upcoming Diablo 4 storyline is to know the previous game releases.

1. Diablo

The first game installment introduced players to Tristram Town and took them to its hellish depths. Its backstory is that of a group of sorcerers who defeated three Prime Evils and bound their essence in Soulstones. Centuries later, we see a corrupt priest breaking Diablo’s Soulstone, freeing the essence and allowing it to be corrupt, tempt, and destroy civilization.

We then see a rise of three heroes who decide to descend into the dark and fight evil. After defeating Diablo, the hero has to seal the demon by plunging the broken Soulstone into their forehead.

2. Diablo II

Diablo 2 presents a new hero on a mission to pursue a demon summoning Dark Wanderer, a hero from Diablo 1. The Diablo 1 hero gets corrupted by Diablo, and players must explore the lands to locate him.

After a long and eventful journey, players will have to defeat Diablo and his allies; Baal, infernal brethren and Mephisto. The storyline completed with Diablo defeated and sent to the Black Abyss. However, the damage has already happened, and the boundaries between Heaven and Hell have weakened.

3. Diablo III

The current Diablo 3 adventure begins 20 years after the events of Diablo 2. Diablo 3 takes players to a time when the hell forces return and dominate the world of Sanctuary. The world needs a hero, and the available options are a Monk, Barbarian, Wizard, Crusader, Witch Doctor, Demon Hunter, and Necromancer.

Diablo 3 requires the hero to summon and tap into their Nephalem heritage to surpass the Heavenly Angels. This is the first step required to destroy Diablo’s schemes. The hero must do whatever it takes to defeat Diablo and stop his plans to resurrect themselves. The consequences of this resurrection are dire since they will allow Diablo to become a more powerful and dominant force.

The game’s storyline continues the narrative of stopping Diablo from accessing more power and corrupting the world. We see its ending hinting at a truce between the angels and humans, and future cooperation is possible.

4. Diablo IV

According to the trend we’ve seen in the previous game releases, the high chances are that Diablo is set for a return in the next installment. Therefore, players should expect more angelic and demonic threats as they seek to succeed in surprising Diablo’s presence. The fate of humanity is at stake, and the world requires a hero. Blizzard releases a game trailer which shows that Lilith will be the game’s main focus, and we have seen her in the previous game titles.

There is not much about the Diablo 4 story in the trailers and official footage. Also, gamers who participated in the recent open test didn’t clearly understand the upcoming gameplay, and the best is to wait for the game’s official launch.

However, we expect the war between the Burning Hells and High Heavens to continue. This means players should expect intense battles with massive tolls caused by angelic and demonic forces.

Also, the game will explore the power vacuum created by the war, and Lilith will take full advantage of the void. Lilith is going to be the central figure in the upcoming installment. She has had minimal presence in the previous games; exploring and discovering her abilities will be interesting.

If you’re contemplating whether or not to play Diablo 3 before trying out Diablo 4, the Diablo 4 and Diablo 3 differences explained could come in handy.

Diablo 4 will launch in June 2023 on previous and next-gen consoles. Therefore, players can take on the new and exciting Diablo 4 adventures on their PS5, PS4, Xbox One, Xbox X|S Series, and PC.

In Diablo, including Diablo 4, acts play a vital role in the gameplay as they are necessary to advance through the game’s storyline. The game is structured into distinct acts that must be completed in a specific sequence for players to progress.

The official Diablo Twitter account has unveiled the Diablo series family tree depicting celestial and infernal entities, shedding light on the game’s lore. In the upcoming release of Diablo 4 in June 2023, notable figures Lilith and Inarius confront each other with their respective armies in the trailer. However, their backgrounds and origins have remained a mystery. Blizzard has now provided a clear depiction of their celestial and infernal relationship through the aforementioned family tree posted on Twitter.

The Bottom Line

Blizzard 4 is the next installment of Blizzard’s fan-favorite franchise, and it has been a long wait since the previous one. Players can’t wait to take on new adventures; according to the official trailers, they seem more interesting. We expect Blizzard to maintain the series’ storyline and make more twists and plot improvements. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *