Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124


What to Do in Diablo 3 After Campaign

Have you completed the Diablo III campaign and need help figuring out where to go next? Hold your piece because there’s more to the game than the primary campaign. In most RPGs, the end of the primary mission doesn’t necessarily mean the end of the game. Mostly, it’s the beginning of a new adventure in the game, completing new quests and side missions. 

That’s the same narrative for Diablo III. Look no further if you are looking for the next step after completing the game’s campaign. This guide will provide all the details regarding the next step and how to do it quickly.

What is Adventure Mode in Diablo 3

Adventure mode is a new game mode introduced as an extension to the Reaper of Souls pack. Here, you are not required to follow the game’s storyline, but rather, you enjoy the open-play mode. Finishing this new adventure mode will provide numerous rewards and capabilities. Diablo’s II lead designer describes it as the smartest and most varied way to play if your goal is to find gear and level up.

In a nutshell, Adventure Mode offers you the freedom to play the game how you want with no restrictions. To create this new mode, the developer noticed a pattern in gamers seeking adventure in risky lands full of enemies but with a large amount of loot to take. Therefore, if you value the best gear or want to upgrade to your best abilities, Adventure mode is the perfect place.

Adventure Mode introduces two care aspects: Nephalem Rifts and Bounties. However, you need to unlock this additional game mode to enjoy this additional content.

How Do You Activate Adventure Mode?

To unlock Adventure Mode, you must defeat the boss, Malthael, in act V of the story mode. Unlocking the Adventure Mode with one character will automatically unlock it for all the other characters. This is irrespective of the character’s level. You cannot access any of the story mode content in this mode.

It’s worth noting that you can only use any character in the same category. Therefore, Hardcore and Softcore are separate, meaning that unlocking the mode in Hardcore doesn’t unlock it in Softcore and the reverse. Also, opening the mode using a non-seasonal character will not unlock the mode for future seasons. You must unlock Adventure Mode in every season using a seasonal character.

The Adventure Mode contains three map levels: regional/act level, global (Sanctuary’s map), and radial (player’s current location map). There’s also an Automap that allows you to move between the game’s five acts. Automap unlocks all waypoints, ensuring access at any time. The bosses are represented by horned icons, while key icons represent Keywardens.


Bounties are special quests for the player from Tyrael and reward the player with loot. The bounties involve:

  • Clearing a dungeon
  • Killing a boss
  • Participating in an event, usually a cursed shrine or chest.
  • Finding a portal takes you to a different realm, and you participate in the event on the other realm.
  • Killing a unique monster
  • Exploring an area while fleeing prisoners

You must complete all five bounties in a single act to earn Horadric Cache, gold, and XP. Horadric Cache is in the inventory inside the miscellaneous bag, and it contains crafting materials, gold, blood shards, blacksmith plans, and other items.

Blood Shards are used to purchase items in the camp from Kadala. On the other hand, the crafting materials are specific to the Horadric Cache act it was earned in:

  • Caldeum Nightshade
  •  Khandaran Rune
  • Westmarch Holy Water
  • Corrupted Angel Flesh

These are used in different amounts with Forgotten Souls to craft Blacksmith items and perform specific actions using the Kanai Cube.

Nephalem Rifts

Nephalem Rifts are tasks awarded to the player by Orek. To enter the Rift, you must interact with Nephalem Obelisk, which opens a portal to an unknown location. You must eliminate the enemies in the area. As you kill more enemies, you fill up a progress meter. Once the meter is complete, a powerful boss, the Rift Guardian, appears. You will receive a lot of loot, including the Greater Rift Key, on killing this boss. The key allows you to take on the Greater Rifts with the challenge set for a maximum of 15 minutes.

The other rewards include Forgotten Souls, Greater Rift Stone, Blood Shards, gold, and gems. After slaying the Rift Guardian and collecting loot, you should head back to Orek and collect your reward of XP and Gold. It would be best if you did this quickly before Orek closed the Rift.


Completing the primary campaign in Diablo III isn’t the end of the game since it unlocks another game mode called Adventure Mode. The new mode will offer you more freedom and more quests to undertake. You will earn numerous useful rewards by completing the quests, mainly in Bounties and Nephalem Rifts. Don’t get stranded anymore after completing the game’s campaign. It’s time for more action in the Sanctuary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *